..recipe for busy people

OK, not the most heart healthy treats today, I admit…

….I treated myself today to a couple of my fave comfort foods. Fetuccine alfredo, well technically spaghetti alfredo in this case….it’s so easy, yet so bad, try and limit yourself to making it twice a year. In the summer, when my herb garden is lovely, a generous sprinkling of parsley on this is a must. OK – here’s the method – equal parts heavy cream (whipping cream) and butter in a small sauce pan. For one or two people say a quarter of a cup of each. Bring to a delicate simmer and salt and pepper to your desire. Add freshly grated parmesan cheese and perhaps some minced garlic if you feel like it. Cook your pasta of choice, drain and return to pot. Pour the creamy cheese sauce over the hot pasta and replace the lid. Let it sit for 3 or 4 minutes, then remove lid, stir and serve. Tell your arteries tomorrow you will eat All-Bran and grapefruit.

simple and effective

I promise to only eat this twice a year...

OK – here`s my other comfort food of the day, and I know I know, don`t judge. This is quick and it`s tasty. Make a graham crust (super easy peasy – combine 1 and a half cups of graham cracker crumbs with a third of cup melted butter and 2 Tbsp. of sugar. Press into a pie plate or a spring form pan (a quick spray of Pam beforehand will help with things later, I promise). Bake at 350 F for about 8 minutes. Let cool. Now combine a thawed container of Cool Whip, with a can of sweetened condensed milk plus a can of thawed lime-aid. Add the grated zest of a lime so people think you slaved over something super complicated and authemtic. If you like less sweet, cut back on the lime-aid (use a half to two thirds of the can). Freeze and enjoy your Key Lion Pie (as my 5 year old likes to call it).

..recipe for busy people

Who doesn`t love pie anyway...

2 thoughts on “OK, not the most heart healthy treats today, I admit…

Leave a Reply

