Gushing over Knitted Socks East and West and some Connie love too….

Anyone that knows me well, knows I adore knitting socks. They’re portable, practical and can be a real challenge to boot. I

Tsunami from Knitted Socks East and West

 hadn’t bought a sock book in quite some time, until a read a book review of Judy Sumner’s book over at Green Apples  wonderful knitting blog.  The first thing that struck me about this book was the variety of yarns used – laceweight through chunky weight yarns – patterns for everything in your stash.

The next thing I noticed about this book were the stitches I didn’t recognize; indeed, Judy Sumner applied her love of Japanese stitch patterns to socks. That is another I adore about knitting – trying and learning something new. The pkok stitch and the lifted stitches are totally new to me and I can’t wait to try them. In addition, the art direction in this book is gorgeous, which is always helpful when seeking some knitting inspiration.

I am also looking forward to some good sock knitting books this year: Melissa Morgan Oakes will be publishing another 2 at a time sock book, this one focussed on toe-up socks, and Wendy Johnson also has a toe-up sock book to be published later this spring.

Inro from Knitted Socks East and West

I can definitely see this book(Knitted Socks East and West)  helping out with some of my sock yarn stash, which I admittedly added to on the weekend, along with some lovely Malabrigo Lace. Yarns on York was having a 25 % off sale, and well, my yarn diet went down the tubes. I hope to make Connie’s wonderful Geodesic Cardigan with it. I have been

Geodesic Cardigan

eyeing this pattern for a while, and since KnitScene is difficult to find around here, I picked one up when I was in New Hampshire a couple of weeks ago. Yay! Did you know people are saying Connie is the new Norah? I hope that people are not putting too much pressure on her. I really love her designs. Lots of knitting inspiration this spring.

Leave a Reply

