The Hot Cheese Dip Hall of Fame, part 1

well, according to me anyway. I thought it would be fun to share some of my favourite dip recipes, that usually involve hot cheese, people crowded around a bubbling dish and a bowl of crackers or chips. Maybe some veggies, too. Saturday night we had a dinner party, and I whipped this dip up. Something to tide the adults over, while the kids eat. Something to nosh with wine and beer, and definitely friends.

So here is a tried and true Hot Cheese recipe, which I can assure you is not original, I did get it from a friend but I think it is from the Kraft website 😀

Hot Artichoke Dip:

1 block cream cheese (I prefer Philly)

1 can or bottle artichoke hearts, diced (the marinated kind adds a lot of flavour, but canned is OK, too)

1 clove of garlic, minced

2 Tbsp. of salted butter

1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of an electric mixer and blend until smooth. Scrape into a baking dish, and nake in a 350 degree F oven for 20 to 25 minutes or so or until all nice and bubbly around the edges. I think Wheat thins are great with this dip. Enjoy! Oh, and by all means, make the dip early and refrigerate it until you need it.

Knitting for Christmas is also coming along. I am right on schedule for a change and even picked up a few Christmas gifts this week. I hope to avoid the mall for pretty much most of December. I made some lovely Newfie Mitts, and donated them to a silent auction at my daughter’s school. What a great pattern. I hope to knock out a few more Christmas gifts before I get back to some selfish knitting. That Daybreak shawl by Stephen West is calling my name!

2 thoughts on “The Hot Cheese Dip Hall of Fame, part 1

  1. Love the Newfie Mittens. I have that pattern in my queue to eventually knit as well.

    That dip looks so yummy that I’m hungry right now! I don’t have the ingredients in the house though ;(

Leave a Reply

