The Hot Cheese Dip Hall of Fame, part 2

OK, keep an open mind. Stay with me now, the air is a little thin up here. You have to try this dip, I am sure many of you already have; it’s a staple at many parties. Again, this is not fancy, raise your pinky fair. This is good friends hovering around a bubbling dish of cheesy goodness. Totally casual.

The first time I saw this dip at a close friends house, I have to be honest, visually – a complete dud. Nothing spectacular to see here folks. But then you taste it…and well, the rest is history.

Michele’s Hot Nacho Dip:

1 block of cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup salsa

1/2 cup shredded cheese (cheddar is great, Monterey Jack is, too)

1/2 cup mayo or sour cream (I think it tastes better with mayo)

freshly ground black pepper and a dash of hot sauce

Mix all ingredients in the bowl of an electric mixer until creamy and smooth. Scrape into an ovenproof casserole dish. The more old-school, the better. Bake in a 350 degree oven until nice and bubbly, 20 to 25 minutes. I often give mine a stir or two while it is baking. Serve with crudites and nacho chips. Those Tostito scoop chips are perfectly engineered for this dip.

...gone in about 60 seconds

I totally realize how unappetizing it looks; I felt the same way. You have got to taste it! If you have a favourite hot cheese dip, let me know. I am always on the lookout for cheesy dips. I have a couple more faves to share before the holidays as well.

I thought I would flash my stash from the Briggs and Little sale last week. Check it:

All skeins were 1$ except for the red, and the roving, which were 3$. Unbelievable!

5 thoughts on “The Hot Cheese Dip Hall of Fame, part 2

  1. That dip sounds gooood! Here’s another oldie to serve with crackers or nacho chips – a block of cream cheese, covered with a jar of red seafood cocktail sauce, smothered in defrosted cooked shrimp, sprinkled with diced red and green peppers and then finish with shredded cheese – cheddar is good. You can miss out the cheese and peppers but they are very good.

Leave a Reply

