Sewing distractions

Right before Christmas I stitched up a couple of box bags for a couple of good friends. Box bags are great for sock knitting and small projects – so I hear, because I haven’t kept one for myself yet!

I am not a great seamstress, so if I can do it, anyone can. I was particularly proud of these 2 bags I made (I used an iron and a ruler – go figure). This is my favourite box bag tutorial, because I do subscribe to the “a picture is worth a thousand words” kind of tutorial. For the above bag, I used some fusible interfacing on both the lining and outside fabric, since that is what I had on hand.

Feel like surfing some great tutorials for a few hours? The Long Thread has posted their Top 100 Tutorials of 2010. Amazing stuff! I do intend to make another box bag, perhaps this weekend…and I am keeping it this time 🙂

7 thoughts on “Sewing distractions

  1. Cuuuute! I tried box bags before T was born. Turns out I didn’t have the machine threaded right, which caused my thread to break every two seconds. Now I’m scared to try again! You definitely need one for yourself!

    • The last time that happened to me I found out that I had the wrong size bobbin in…I didn’t even know there was different sizes! Yes, I have a very old machine. I hope to get some sewing in this week, fingers crossed.

    • I am sorry for the delay in replying – I do not currently make them to sell, but have toyed with the idea of setting up an Etsy shop. There are many sellers on Etsy who do make some lovely ones. Thank you for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

