A long, cold winter …

It seems as though it snows everyday. I am not normally too bothered by winter, cold and snow; we eastern Canadians tend to get used to the freezing cold, damp and long winters. I for one love sliding, cross country skiing and building snow forts with the kids. Today, after shovelling for the what seems to be the thousandth time…my back told me to stop. When the snow banks are 5 feet high, shovelling gets tough. You can only use your legs so much when they are that high!

Today the wind is howling and it is so cold. The wind is making some nice frosting-like designs in the snow however.

Luckily, living on a court has some advantages. One of which is the mountain of snow in the winter. I grew up on a court as well, so I am glad my kids are enjoying the benefits and inevitable bruises that come with sliding off this thing.

On the plus side, this is great knitting weather and I actually finished a sweater. It is the Garter Yoke Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre from the now defunct Knit1 magazine a couple of years back (2008). Very straightforward top-down construction. Great for mindless TV knitting if you’re into that kind of thing. I used Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed and I really enjoyed knitting with it. So many flecks of colour and subtle variations in the yarn thickness. I only used 8 balls to boot! Forgive the ANTM pose (America’s Next Top Model I ain’t :))

Next to finish are a pair of toe-up socks that have been languishing on my needles for too long. I really like them, and I like the yarn…perhaps it was the sweater has caused them to languish? Anyway I am using Lorna’s Laces shepherd sock multi in the Black Pearl colourway, and am using a free pattern on Ravelry called Bloody Mary by Sandra Park.

So, I am doing these toe-up, and I did a slip stitch heel for fun which caused some interesting pooling on the top of the sock. I hope to get these cast-off within the next day or two because I have some projects I am dying to start. Number one on my list is Brooklet by Cecily Glowik MacDonald. I bought the pattern and am now stash searching for that perfect combination of sock yarn. Happy knitting everyone!

2 thoughts on “A long, cold winter …

Leave a Reply

