Smithsonian Natural History Museum: Hyperbolic Crochet

A family trip earlier this month to Washington, DC inevitably led us to the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. Amazing is an understatement, of course. If you can make it to DC, most of these museums are free, so it’s a great city to visit: so much to do and no admission prices. I thought I would share a very yarny exhibit that I thoroughly enjoyed; a crocheted coral reef (there is knitting in here, too). Two sisters are the brainchildren of this creation, and I can only say…I would loved to have seen their living room while this creation was being made.

I have a few FOs to share. First a pair of Fletcher mittens that I made for a mitten swap and sent to Ontario. I was very happy with how these turned out and will definitely be making more. I used some Briggs and Little and Noro Kureyon. If you’re on Ravelry, here is the link to my project page: Fletcher mittens.

I finally made myself a pair of Harry Potter socks, in anticipation of the final movie. I have read all the books, and love them, but the movies have a special place in my heart, too. I improvised the pattern, and made them toe-up with a short row heel. I used Knit Picks Stroll in mustard and wine…pretty close to Gryffindor colours.

2 thoughts on “Smithsonian Natural History Museum: Hyperbolic Crochet

Leave a Reply

