Green shawl addiction worsening…

Hey, there are worse things, right? I am on a green shawl jag and just yesterday, I cast on another. Have you heard? Wendy Johnson is doing a Summer Mystery Shawlette KAL. I am somewhat intimidated; hopefully I can keep up. I am a huge fan of Wendy’s. I have both of her Toe-up sock books, and they are both fantastic and inspiring. For this Mystery shawl, I actually frogged my Trillian shawl that I knit with some Wollmeise Twin 80/20 in zur lederhos’n, a lovely combo of golds and forest greens. I just found the Trillian too long for me, but loved the yarn so much I have decided to reincarnate it.

So for some FOs:

A Hamamelis Shawl in Madelinetosh sock in Cedar:

I also became unhinged and immediately after knitting Hamamelis I cast on for a Budding Apple by Anne Hanson from the new Twist Collective. I used some Diamond Luxury Collection fine merino superwash in a yellowy green. It was my first bottom up shawl and I really enjoyed the pattern.

I also finished a pair of socks, toe- up, two at a time with a short row heel. The yarn I used was String Theory Colourworks Entanglement Self Striping. If you ever come across some of this yarn…buy it!! Do not hesitate! It is gorgeous to knit with. I used 2.25 mm and cast on 64 stitches. I used some plain Regia in black to do a short row heel without interrupting the stripe width and was very pleased with the result.

And we had a birthday…my son turned 10! So, my eldest doesn’t like cake and every year for the last 5 years or so, he requests this (Martha Stewart, avert your eyes):

Yes, it’s Jello. The recipe is here. I use melted vanilla ice cream instead of the dairy ingredients suggested because I usually have some on hand. And I use my trusty old bundt cake pan, so I don’t quite get the height you would with a real gelatin mold. But as you can see, it made my birthday boy very happy 😀

4 thoughts on “Green shawl addiction worsening…

    • oh shucks. Thanks. Yes, I sure can pour boiling water 🙂 The only hard part is letting each layer chill for 15 or 20 minutes before the next layer is poured. So there is a lot of back and forth, but of course not at all difficult.

  1. Oh awesome “cake”. I am not a jello eater, but that looks like fun to make. I wonder if I should make one for Mack’s birthday (last year I did the 6 layer rainbow cake). You definitely made him happy with that cake. Wow 10 years old! Happy birthday!

    Wow, look at all those FO’s…! Nothing wrong with some green shawls! I can’t believe how fast you’ve been whipping up these projects!

  2. Awesome looking “cake” ! When I was a little girl, my absolute favourite dessert was jello ( any colour and preferably with a can of fruit cocktail folded in if we had some in the cupboard), with big globs of vanilla ice cream on top. I’ve not had that in ages, and now you have me pining for it !

    The knitting is stellar ! But then, your knitting always is.

Leave a Reply

