Banana cupcakes with peanut butter cream cheese frosting…and some socks, too

I really need to stop watching Cupcake Wars on the Food Network. It gives a person all kinds of delicious ideas. Like these banana cupcakes with peanut butter cream cheese frosting. This recipe is fantastic and is definitely a new favourite. I brought these to a party and they were a success with everyone. The frosting was particularly nice, not too sweet, not too much peanut butter…just a creamy beautiful frosting.

I learned from Cupcakes Wars that you can remove a small plug of cake from a cupcake using an apple corer, and add a filling of your choosing. For these cupcakes I made a simple chocolate ganache (I used one part heavy cream to two parts semi sweet chocolate). The result was surprisingly light and fluffy and not as heavy as I anticipated.

I have done a bit of knitting, too. I completed these Avivah socks a few days ago. The pattern is from the latest Twist Collective and I used some Fleece Artist BFL sock yarn. It is my second pair of socks using the Fleece Artist BFL and I must say, I love knitting with it.

4 thoughts on “Banana cupcakes with peanut butter cream cheese frosting…and some socks, too

  1. The socks look great, love the Avivah pattern!

    Wow, I had no idea that you could do that with an apple corer! What a neat idea. Those look deliciously fattening. (Must get back on the diet now that my birthday is over).

    • Yes, definitely only make these for a party so that they are not hanging around the house. I would be powerless with these around. Same goes for a really good homemade chocolate cake. Thanks for the sock compliment! It is a great pattern.

Leave a Reply

