They’re back…

…lurking beneath large green leaves, swelling beneath orangey yellow blossoms to unwieldy sizes. Yes, I am talking zucchinis. Despite the fact that our summer has been a tad wet and cool, and the fact that slugs and earwigs are doing their darnedest to eat everything in my garden, I am still being blessed with zucchinis. Luckily, I love zucchini as a side dish, lightly stir-fried in olive oil, perhaps with some onion and garlic. Hit it with some pepper and salt, maybe some Frank’s Red Hot sauce, too. Lately, I can’t get enough of Frank’s.

Of course there is chocolate zucchini cake, but sometimes even I try to cook and eat with health and cholesterol in mind. I was thrilled to try this recipe at my sister-in-law’s house. It was a real crowd pleaser with kids and adults alike. I have previously failed at attempts to get my kids to eat zucchini muffins, but these ones are an absolute hit. It may also make a dent in your zucchini supply (here’s hoping).

Anna’s Zucchini Carrot Muffins

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup wheat germ or ground flax

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 to 1 tsp. cinnamon (I also add a pinch of nutmeg because I love it)

1/2 tsp. salt

Mix the above dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a medium bowl combine:

2 beaten eggs

1/3 cup vegetable oil (to this add soured milk to make 3/4 cup of liquid. Buttermilk can also be used, but if you don’t have it, sour some milk by adding a teaspoon of white vinegar to it.

Combine the eggs with the milk and oil mixture. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Fold in 1 cup chocolate chips or raisins (my kids prefer chocolate chips), 1 cup shredded carrots and 1 cup shredded zucchini (I use the fine grate on a box grater). Do not overmix your muffins or you will have hockey pucks. Just fold the ingredients together ever so gently until they are just combined.

Put muffin in tins and bake at 350 F for about 10 to 12 minutes. I usually bake mine longer since I use a muffin stone and it cooks a little slower. Bake until the muffins are slightly golden and aren’t squishy on top anymore. Yum! What a great way to start the day.

4 thoughts on “They’re back…

  1. Those are some nice looking zucchinis. Do the muffins have a carrot cake taste to them? (I’m not a carrot cake fan). I’ve been thinking about making Zucchini Fritters (I think they’re called that). Last week was the zucchnini bread and the zucchini-banana bread bake fest. I even threw zucchini into our pot roast for dinner that night. Gave away to one of my best friends a large zucchini and still have so much left! LOL Soon, I might turn into a zucchini!

  2. Just saw your comment about freezing already grated zucchini. What a great idea. I think I’ll do that today! It’ll be nice to open up the freezer mid winter and find zucchini to defrost and bake in the middle of winter!

Leave a Reply

