Making Christmas

I finished my red socks in time for Christmas…they turned out great:

The yarn is Boneshaker sock BFL by Little Red Bicycle and the pattern is called caret + chevron by Chrissy Gardiner from Fall 2011 sockupied. Awesome yarn, awesome pattern…sock knitting heaven! Link to my Ravelry page here.

I also got some baking done…I really waited until the last minute this year, since I am the biggest sweet sneaking culprit in the house…I kind of wanted to minimize the time the sweets were around, yet still have enough to share with neighbours and friends, so I took some super quick and simple recipes and made some Christmas the other afternoon.

OK, clockwise from the top are caramel chocolate slices, almond and apricot dark chocolate bark, Oreo cream fudge and red velvet cake balls. I have no recipe for the bark…you simply toast blanched almonds in your oven until they smell divine and combine them with some nice chopped apricots. melt about 2 or 3 cups of dark chocolate (chips or chunks) in the microwave. Stirring every 25 seconds until melted. Put the almonds and apricots of a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet and pour the chocolate over top. Spread with the back of a spoon, refrigerate than crack into pieces. In no time I had 7 containers of sweets made up to give. Nice! I must admit I totally got frazzled dipping the cake balls into white chocolate…I just couldn’t get a good consistency. I covered my culinary mishap with some piped semi-sweet chocolate. All the while I was humming “Making Christmas” from A Nightmare Before Christmas….I admit somewhat maniacally! Watch the clip from the movie here…I love it! Merry Christmas everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

