Have your cake and knit socks, too

2012 has been fairly productive in a knitting sense so far. I have a few FOs to share but before I do, I want to share my latest favourite cake recipe. This is another gem from my sister in law, and it is definitely one of those cakes that you make for friends or family. It’s casual, it’s simple, it’s rustic and delicious. Believe me, I’ve been making banana chocolate chip cakes for years and years but there is something really great about the texture of this cake. I normally ice this cake with a cream cheese icing which works really well with it. The tartness of the cream cheese plays off the sweetness of the bananas and chocolate so nicely, but my daughter doesn’t love cream cheese icing (if I hadn’t seen her being born myself I might have considered a hospital mix-up…cream cheese icing rejected by someone related to me?? wha??) soooo I took some whipping cream and chocolate and made a quick ganache. So here is the recipe. Trust me, this very unassuming cake in a square pan packs a serious flavour wallop. Plus it is super easy….

Anna’s Chocolate Chip Banana Cake:

1 1/2 cups flour

2/3 cup white sugar

3/4 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp.salt

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 3 large)

2 eggs

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat overn to 350 F. Grease and flour a 9 ” square pan, or an 8 ” square pan will do, too.

2. In a large bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add chocolate chips and stir.

3. In a separate bowl combine bananas, eggs, milk, vanilla and melted butter.

4. Stir banana mixture into flour mix. Do not over mix or cake will be tough.

5. Pour into pan. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes until cake is golden and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.

Let cool then frost as you like. For the ganache above, I used 1/2 cup whipping cream and 1 cup chocolate chips. Heat cream in a small sauce pan until it begins to simmer, then pour over the chocolate chips in a small metal or glass bowl. Let stand for 5 minutes, then stir until smooth and glossy.

OK…now for some FOs to share:

My first test knit: Elves in the Woods Socks by Amy Jansen, knit with Knit Picks Stroll tonal in oak. Link to my Ravelry page.

I knit my first Mystery Sock! The pattern is called Bláthnat and was designed by IrishGirlieKnits. I used Tanis Fiber Arts Blue Label in amber and really enjoyed the yarn.

And I am proud to say I started and completed a project in January that I had been wanting to knit for a long time. The pattern is called Meeting St. mittens, and I used Berroco Sox Metallics. I also bit the bullet hard and knit some liners with a fingering weight yarn. Worth it, but such a PITA. I was getting 10 stitches to the inch on the liners…good grief. But I love them!

7 thoughts on “Have your cake and knit socks, too

Leave a Reply

