Summer garments and an Aidez KAL

Summer has come and gone, and if I am to be completely honest, I was not sorry to see it go. It was very hot and dry this summer, as it was many areas in North America, but I am just not a lover of hot weather. I endured it more than I enjoyed it, yet I tried to plaster a smile on my face…for the kids sake! Of course knitting helps ūüôā
I was a busy knitter this summer, and have a few FOs to share:
Amiga by Mags Kandis, a free pattern from Knitty: I used the yarn the pattern specifies; Americo Cotton Flamme and I really enjoyed knitting with it. It’s a light, easy to wear cardigan.

Next, I attempted a fingering weight cotton top-down cardi called Capricious. I used some Rowan 4 ply cotton, and although the resulting garment is really great, I found the colour really difficult to photograph. It has some nice cabling detail down the sleeve, but I just couldn’t get a good pic!

So a quick vacation to New Hampshire and Massachusetts reslted in another top-down cardi, again from Knitty. This is the Shapely Boyfriend by Stefanie Japel and it was fantastic vacation knitting. I used some Debbie Bliss Luxury Donegal Tweed for this one.

The last FO I have to share is one that I had been wanting to knit for a long time, but I felt a little intimidated by it, to be honest. I know I can knit charty things, but I don’t always like being chained to a chart if you know what i mean. I couldn’t ¬†believe how simple this one was. It’s the Wood Hollow Vest by Kirsten Kapur and it really couldn’t be simpler. After about 6 rows I put the pattern down and just knit away on it. It’s so intuitive. I would make another in a heart beat. I used some Cascade 220 Heathers for this one and I’m super happy with it.

OK, so you can see I have been productive!

So, I ran into some great yarn on sale this summer. Does that ever happen to you? Before I knew it 10 skeins had leaped into my hands of some soft and lovely Rowan RYC soft tweed. ¬†I was immediately thinking of Aidez. So when my dear friend and knitter extraordinaire, Kelly aka CelticCastOn suggested an Aidez KAL starting today (!) I thought YES! So my gauge swatch is drying. Fingers crossed I get gauge first try. So if you’re up for it, head on over to Kelly’s beautiful blog and join in on the fun. (www.celticcaston.com)

4 thoughts on “Summer garments and an Aidez KAL

    • Thanks Robyn. Yes, I am not sure what came over me this summer. I suddenly became a garment knitter! I still love knitting socks and shawlettes, too. Not enough hours in the day. I can’t wait to see your Favourite Cardigan all completed. You picked such a great yarn.

Leave a Reply

