Using the good stuff…

I sometimes find myself hesitant to use my favourite skeins of yarn, as if they are too precious to replace. Silly, I know. Especially when I confront my Ravelry stash page. There is no need to hold back…I have 70 skeins of sock yarn?? Good grief.

So when my friend CelticCastOn suggested a Knit Along on her blog, I decided to forge ahead with one of my favourite colours in my stash: Tanis Fiber Arts Blue Label in the Dove colourway.

IMG_4443

I can never have enough grey in my wardrobe, and the same goes for my socks! The pattern we are knitting is a free pattern from Tanis Fiber Arts called Business Casual, a great faux argyle sock pattern. You should join! There are prizes 🙂

Speaking of Tanis, I am once again a member of the Year in Colour Club and our first installment for 2013 arrived a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_6585

A beautiful skein of 100% mulberry silk in a fingering weight. Gorgeous!

I also have a couple of FOs to share:

IMG_6558

A Shalder for me, in Cascade 200.

IMG_6658

A Magical for my daughter in some old DK wool I had in my stash.

IMG_6674

IMG_6671

A Scrollwork hat made with my first skein of Plucky Primo Worsted in the Starling colourway. What beautiful yarn! Now that is truly knitting with the good stuff!

6 thoughts on “Using the good stuff…

  1. Oh my gosh, I go through the SAME thing. I have 66 skeins of sock yarn and a lot more stash than that besides. Good to know I am not alone.

    Your FOs are gorgeous, by the way! I especially like the Scrollwork.

    • Thank you! Yes, I was laughing at myself last summer when I bought a pattern called Elfe. It is top-down tee that uses 2 skeins of sock yarn. I went to look at my stash on Ravelry and realized just how much sock yarn I have!! Needless to say, I really need to knit faster and definitely use the good stuff 🙂

  2. Tanis’ yarn rocks. LOVE working with it. You don’t want to see my stash of sock yarn. More than I know what to do with…. lol. Come up to Montreal & see…. LOL. Love your newest FO’s. They’re all gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

