FO: Arnulf socks

I completed another pair of socks this week! On a roll after all that Christmas knitting. The pattern is Arnulf by Rachel Coopey, and the yarn is the basic 4 ply sock yarn from the Knitting Goddess. This is the January shipment and pattern for the 2014 A Little Bit of What You Fancy Sock Club. January’s club colour is inspired by Little Red Riding Hood and the colourway is called “wolf”. I love how unexpected this was…of course I was assuming it would be red!

When I got my yarn I was so delighted. The yarn itself is very soft, smooth and fine, with all the wonderful subtle colour variations that you expect from a hand dyed yarn.

IMG_9302

So this year, the club includes a 100 gram skein of a solid colour, plus 20 grams of a contrasting colour that you may use if you wish. Since I had just done a top down sock, I decided I would knit this pair toe-up with a gusset and heel flap, even though the pattern isn’t written that way. I am so pleased I did because toe-up with a heel flap finally clicked with me.

IMG_0595

I feel I could definitely knit another pair, with any stitch count and not need a pattern; just knit right from my head.

IMG_9381a

Really pleased with this pair.

IMG_9382

So, the next day, look what I found in my mailbox…

IMG_9390

The February Club Colour! It is inspired by the fairytale Snow White and the colourway is called “snow blindness”. I haven’t received the pattern yet, but it should be showing up in my inbox later today.

I also received my Tanis Fiber Arts Year in Color January yarn! It’s called Orchid. It came with an awesome sock pattern, too, called Cavalcade Socks. I will definitely be knitting these, too.

IMG_9339

This week, I am hoping to finish a cardigan and get ready and swatched for the Ravellenic games! I think I have a plan…it will be my first time participating and I am really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

